Home Page

Skelton School


Home Page

Skelton School

EYFS Information

Area Lead - Miss Dobinson

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old.

All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

Your child will mostly be taught through games and play.

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design


The EYFS framework:

  • sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well
  • ensures children are kept healthy and safe
  • ensures that children have the knowledge and skills they need to start school


At the end of Reception, children are assessed within 17 Early Learning Goals (ELGs). Children are scored either 1 - emerging or 2 - expected within these 17 areas. A list of the ELGs can be found in the ELG document on this page.

Physical Development



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design